Betting On The AFL

Introduction to Online AFL Betting in New Zealand

New Zealanders not only love watching the most prestigious Australian rules football competition, they also love betting on it, and they don’t have to go very far to do it. The islands’ top online bookmakers always make sure to include AFL markets so punters don’t miss any of the action.

Punters can bet on a pre-season competition, the regular season, the finals series, and the Grand Final. The season runs from March to September.

Outright match and season bets can be placed, as can exotic or prop bets. Punters in New Zealand can also place futures and live bets.

AFL Season Structure

The AFL’s pre-season competition is known as the NAB Challenge, and its current form was introduced in 2014. During the Challenge, each of the league’s 18 teams play three games each.

The pre-season starts in late February, and ends in early March. It gives the teams a chance to start preparing for the big competition and to trial any changes that have been made to the rules.

The premiership season, which runs from late March to early September, sees 23 rounds of home and away Aussie rules football games played.

Apart from the Grand Final, the AFL premiership season in which each team plays 22 games, attracts the most punters from New Zealand. It features top quality football as well as an incredible number of match bets.

When the home and away season comes to an end, the minor premiers are awarded the McClelland Trophy, which provides punters with yet another opportunity to place their bets at online bookmakers.

Themed rounds and special matches that can make for interesting betting opportunities for New Zealanders. Among them are Anzac Day, the Rivalry Round, the Heritage Round, the Women’s Round, the Queen’s Birthday game, and Dreamtime at the ‘G.

The whole point of the AFL premiership series is to determine the eight teams that will play in the finals series that ends with the Grand Final. The series runs for the four weeks of September, with the Grand Final being played on the last Saturday of that month.

Betting at New Zealand’s online bookmakers reaches fever pitch during the finals series, as the eight teams are reduced to the two that will play for the title of premiers and the EL Wilson Shield.

Current AFL Teams

The AFL’s current clubs are drawn from five of Australia’s six states. The only one to not be represented in the league is Tasmania. A knowledge of each club’s record can be of benefit to punters in New Zealand who want to place exotic bets online.

Those clubs currently in the league are Adelaide Crows, Brisbane Lions, Carlton Blues, Collingwood Magpies, Essendon Bombers, Fremantle Dockers, Geelong Cats, Greater Western Sydney Giants, Hawthorn Hawks, Melbourne Demons, North Melbourne Kangaroos, Port Adelaide Power, Richmond Tigers, St Kilda Saints, Sydney Swans, West Coast Eagles, and Western Bulldogs.

Popular Types of AFL Bets

The AFL online betting options at New Zealand’s online bookmakers are many, and cover both individual matches, the season, and the Grand Final. Bracket and multiple batch bets can also be placed during the season.

The most popular bets placed are those on the winners of particular games. There are also many different exotic bets placed by New Zealand’s punters, some of which are betting on AFL records to be broken, the number of points specific players will score, and the correct scores of games.